Documenta Fifteen

Documenta 15 Reveals Artists for 2022 Edition

For the next Documenta that will take place from June 18 until September 25, 2022 in Kassel, the now announced international participants are divided into nine so-called "Mini-Majelis". Here are the names.

Documenta 15 Reveals Artists for 2022 Edition

The « Documenta Fifteen » curated by the Indonesian art collective Ruangrupa has published a list of exhibiting artists and collectives. The names have been exclusively announced in the street newspaper « Asphalt » from Hanover, that benefits homeless and by poverty affected people. The next documenta will take place from June 18 until September 25, 2022 in Kassel.

The Jakarta-based collective ruangrupa named « lumbung » as their curatorial practice for document fifteen, which is based on the principles of collectivity, resource building, and equal sharing. The now announced participants are divided into nine so-called « Mini-Majelis », that means something like assembly or council in Indonesian. Small groups of self-organized international creatives are already working together and will exchange their ideas in larger groups later. The nationalities of those involved are not named, but their « home time zone.  Each Majelis group receives a budget to be shared amongst each other.

Among the international collectives with whom Ruangrupa has been working for the Lumbung program for a long time, including Britto Arts Trust (Dhaka, Bangladesh), FAFSWAG (Auckland, Aotearoa), Instituto de Artivismo Hannah Arendt (Havana, Cuba), Project Art Works (Hastings, United Kingdom) and the Wajukuu Art Project (Nairobi, Kenya), these are the groups:

ikkibawiKrrr (Korea Standard Time / KSK)
ook_reinaart vanhoe (Central European Time / CET)
Richard Bell (Australian Eastern Standard Time / AEST)
Taring Padi (Waktu Indonesia Barat / West Indonesian Time / WIB)
Wakaliwood (East African Time / EAT)

Arts Collaboratory (various time zones)
Black Quantum Futurism (Eastern Standard Time / EST)
Chimurenga (South African Standard Time / SAST)
Jumana Emil Abboud (Eastern European Time / EET)
Nino Bulling (CET)
Agus Nur Amal PMTOH (WIB)
Subversive Film (CET, EET)

Cinema Caravan and Takashi Kuribayashi (Japan Standard Time / JST)
Kiri Dalena (Philippine Time / PHT)
Nguyen Trinh Thi (Indochine Time / ICT)
Safdar Ahmed (AEST)
Sakuliu (Taiwan Standard Time / TST)

Atis Rezistans | Ghetto Bienniale (EST, Western European Time / WET)
Marwa Arsanios (CET)
Sourab Phadke (WET, Indian Standard Time / IST)
Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh (Baghdad Time / BT, Western Sahara Standard Time / WT)
* foundationClass * collective (CET)

Another Roadmap Africa Cluster (West African Time / WAT, Central African Time / CAT, EAT)
Archives de luttes des femmes en Algérie (WAT)
Asia Art Archive (Hong Kong Time / HKT)
Center d’art Waza (CAT)
El Warcha (WAT)
Graziela Kunsch (Brasilia Time / BRT)
Keleketla! Library (SAST)
Komina Film a Rojava (EET)
Sada [regroup] (AST)
Siwa platforme – L’Economat at Redyes (WAT)

Baan Norg Collaborative Arts and Culture (ICT)
Dan Perjovschi (EET)
Fehras Publishing Practices (CET)
Nhà Sàn Collective (ICT)
The Nest Collective (EAT)

Hamja Ahsan (WET)
Jimmie Durham (CET)
La Intermundial Holobiente (WET, Argentinian Time / ART, EST)
Pinar Öğrenci (CET)
Saodat Ismailova (Uzbekistan Time / UZT)

Amol K Patil (IS)
Boloho (China Standard Time)
Cao Minghao & Chen Jianjun (CST)
CHANG En-man (TST)
Sa Sa Art Projects (ICT)

Alice Yard (AST)
Erick Beltrán (CET)
LE18 (WAT)
Madeyoulook (SAST)
Party Office b2b Fadescha (IST, EST)
Serigrafistas queer (ART)




More Editorial