Frieze London and Frieze Masters 2013: Sculpture Park

Frieze London / Frieze Masters, London, United Kingdom
17 Oct 2013 - 20 Oct 2013

Frieze announces that in 2013 the Frieze Sculpture Park will include works from both Frieze London and Frieze Masters. Selected for the second year running by Clare Lilley, Director of Programme at Yorkshire Sculpture Park, this year the Sculpture Park will include new work by some of the most acclaimed contemporary sculptors alongside historical pieces. With sculpture dating from the medieval period through to the present day, this year’s Sculpture Park is the largest presentation of sculpture to date at Frieze.

Lilley’s selection looks to bring together unexpected correspondences between the old and new. Sculptures range from an 11th-century stone seated lion and 13th-century gargoyles, to 20th-century pieces by Judy Chicago and Helen Chadwick, to new work by artists including Oscar Murillo and Alice Channer.

The Sculpture Park also includes work from artists: Matt Calderwood, Marilá Dardot, Elmgreen & Dragset, Gimhongsok, Jeppe Hein, Amar Kanwar, Joan Miró, Peter Peri, Jaume Plensa, Norbert Prangenberg, Yinka Shonibare, David Shrigley, Takis, Bernar Venet, Rachel Whiteread and Richard Woods.

Clare Lilley, said of her selection: ‘Frieze is unique in being able to show sculpture for the open air in an exceptional, mature parkland; this year, with the inclusion of works from Frieze Masters, the Sculpture Park has even greater depth and breadth. It has been exciting to witness the enthusiasm of proposing galleries and artists. I hope the exhibition will stimulate and be enjoyed by collectors and curators from around the world, and also by the thousands of visitors who use the English Gardens every week.’

Sited in the English Gardens of Regent’s Park, the Sculpture Park is located a short walk to the east of the entrance to the fair. Entrance to the Sculpture Park is free to the public. Frieze London and Frieze Masters take place from the 17–20 October 2013. This year marks the tenth consecutive year of sponsorship by Deutsche Bank.