Wanini Kimemiah - courtesy of Wanini Kimemiah, C& Office Nairobi


The Stedelijk x C& Editorial Fellowship Announces First Fellow Wanini Kimemiah

Nairobi-based artist and writer Wanini Kimemiah is the first young editor of the editorial fellowship hosted by C& and the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam.

Naomi Rincón Gallardo, Sonnet of Vermin, 2022. Photo by Claudia López Terroso.


Toronto Biennial Announces Preliminary List of Artists, Partners, and Sponsors

Curators Dominique Fontaine and Miguel A. López reveal their first pick of artists for the 3rd edition of the Toronto Biennial running in Fall 2024.

(left) Christelle Oyiri. Photo: Lucid Interval; (right) Christelle Oyiri, Gentle Battle, 2022, installation view, Tramway, Glasgow


Christelle Oyiri Awarded PONTOPREIS MMK 2024

Paris-based interdisciplinary artist and Djane Christelle Oyiri is honored for her clear and free observations of everyday life.

Benediction, 2023, by Daniel Arnan Quarshie. Presented by Gallery 1957


ART X Lagos Announces Theme and Program for 2023

A wide-ranging fair programme features special exhibitions, ART X Live! and ART X Talks, and the debut of ART X Cinema to be held from 2-5 November.

Mário Macilau, A candle man, from Faith series, 2018. Courtesy of Ed Cross.


Mário Macilau Receives James Barnor Photography Prize 2023

Mário Macilau has been awarded the prestigious prize for his series Faith documenting the practice of animism in contemporary Mozambique.

Thelma Golden.Photo: Julie Skarratt. Courtesy of LACMA.


Thelma Golden Wins Gish Prize 2023

The 30th Dorothy and Lillian Gish Prize goes to Thelma Golden, director and chief curator of The Studio Museum in Harlem.

Rafiki, Only the fool fights the sun (cropped), 2022. Courtesy the artist.


New Triennale “Southnord Artfest” Announced in Stockholm

Southnord Artfest, hosted by Kulturhuset, brings together Black and Afro Nordic artists. It takes place between 26 Oct 2023 and 14 Jan 2024.

M’hammed Kilito, from the series


14th LagosPhoto Festival Announces Places, Artist List and Theme

Running from October 27 to December 31, LagosPhoto Festival announces its first expansion beyond Lagos hosting 38 national and international artists.

(Left) Otobong Nkanga.
Courtesy of the artist. (Right top) Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, 2010/19; Kolanut Tales–Dismembered, 2016. Installation view of Acts at the Crossroads at MOCAA–Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art, 2019. Photo: Dillon Marsh; (right bottom) Otobong Nkanga, In Pursuit of Bling, 2014. Installation view of Otobong Nkanga: To Dig a Hole That Collapses Again at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago, 2018.


Otobong Nkanga Receives 2025 Nasher Prize

For her powerful work, the Antwerp-based artist wins the 2025 Nasher Prize exclusively awarded to contemporary sculpture.

Theresah Ankomah, Untitled, 2022. Courtesy of Savvy Contemporary.


1-54 London: Exhibitors, Artists and Special Projects

This edition will host over 60 international exhibitors, its largest number to date and more than 170 artist from Africa and the Global Diaspora.

Clockwise: Diébédo Francis Kéré at Kéré Architecture, Berlin, May 2023 © The Japan Art Association / The Sankei Shimbun; Gando Primary School, 2001, Burkina Faso
Photo: Siméon Duchoud. Courtesy of Kéré Architecture; Rendering façade of Benin National Assembly. Courtesy of Kéré Architecture


Diébédo Francis Kéré Wins 2023 Praemium Imperiale

By combining local materials and skills with innovative design and smart engineering solutions, architect Diébédo Francis Kéré wins the coveted award.

Senam Okudzeto. Photo: Christopher Cerrone


Senam Okudzeto Receives the Paul Boesch Art Prize 2023

Artist, researcher, writer and founder, Senam Okudzeto receives on of the highest Swiss art prizes for her socio-politically relevant work.

All content © 2023 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT