NENGI OMUKU


Nengi Omuku, Corkscrew, 2014
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookEmail to someone

 

Die nigerianische Künstlerin Nengi Omuku absolvierte ihren Bachelor und ihren Master an der Slade School of Fine Art am University College London. Heute lebt und arbeitet sie in Nigeria. Ihre Werke sind in Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Großbritannien und Nigeria zu sehen. Für ihre Arbeiten ist sie mit verschiedenen Stipendien und Preisen ausgezeichnet worden, darunter dem British Council CHOGM Kunstpreis, der von Ihrer Königlichen Hoheit Queen Elizabeth II. überreicht wird.

Omukus Arbeiten fungieren als Metapher, die die breiteren Themen Differenz, gegenseitiges Verständnis und Zugehörigkeit in den Blick nimmt. Mithilfe von Farbe untersucht sie die Vorstellung, die menschliche Gestalt könne verwandelt werden unter der Voraussetzung, dass die Dinge nicht nur anders aussehen, sondern auch anders sein könnten. Die Befreiung von der körperlichen Gestalt hat sie in neue Bereiche und zu Ausdrucksformen geführt, bei denen Wesen Schritt für Schritt von ihrer gegenwärtigen Realität verwandelt und durch Farbe und Zeichen reanimiert werden.

Omuku möchte Porträts vermitteln – Präsenzen, die durch aktive Räume schweben; Präsenzen, die bestrebt sind, eigenständige Ereignisse zu werden. Darüber hinaus geht sie oft Begegnungen nach – was passiert, wenn verschiedene Formen aufeinandertreffen. Ein weiteres Element ihrer Arbeiten ist die Flucht, insbesondere wie Körper Flucht zum Ausdruck bringen.

 

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

Don't miss out

Sign up to our newsletter now to get the latest stories from CONTEMPORARY AND (C&) delivered straight to your inbox

Thank you!

You have already signed up

Thank you!

We’ve successfully received your details.

To complete the subscription process, please click the link in the email we just sent you.

NENGI OMUKU

Nengi Omuku, Corkscrew, 2014


 

Nengi Omuku is a Nigerian artist who received her BA and MA at the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London. She has had solo and group exhibitions in the UK and Nigeria, and now lives and works in Nigeria. Her artistic practice has won her scholarships and awards, including the British Council CHOGM art award presented by Queen Elizabeth II.

Her work functions as a metaphor alluding to wider themes of difference, understanding, and mutual belonging. Through color she explores the idea that the human figure can be transformed based on the premise that things can look a certain way but can also be otherwise. Liberation from the physical form has led her into new territory, a moment-by-moment expression of beings that have been transformed from their present reality, reanimated through color and markings.

Nengi Omuku wishes to convey portraits: presences floating through active spaces, presences that have the aspiration of becoming events in their own right. She also frequently explores encounters – what happens when different forms meet. Another element of her work is the scape, in particular, the escape the bodies inhabit.

 


All content © 2020 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT