Yaa Asantewaa Art Prize 2023

Gallery 1957, Ghana
Deadline: 31 July 2023

Courtesy of Gallery 1957

Courtesy of Gallery 1957

Gallery 1957  announces the third edition of their art prize dedicated to African women artists, The Yaa Asantewaa Art Prize. Named after the prominent Ghanaian Queen Mother, the prize aims to fortify Gallery 1957’s commitment to supporting and uplifting emerging and established artists across Ghana and the diaspora. The prize is open exclusively to Ghanaian women artists either living in Ghana or across its diaspora.

The Gallery was proud to present Priscilla Kennedy as the 2022 recipient of the Yaa Asantewaa Art Prize, multidisciplinary artist Elisabeth Efua Sutherland and painter Naomi Amevinya as first and second runner up respectively.

One first prize winner will receive an artist residency and exhibition at Gallery 1957, as well as GH$40,000. Second runner up will be awarded GH$20,000 and third runner-up will receive GH$15,000.

The winner will have an artist residency and exhibition at Gallery 1957 and will be selected by a jury of international experts:
Erin Christovale, Film programmer and curator at the Hammer Museum; Ekow Eshun, Writer and curator; N’Goné Fall, Independent curator and cultural policy consultant; Katherine Finerty, Curator, Art Historian and Writer; Ibrahim Mahama, Artist, Founder of the SCCA, Nkrumah Volini and Red Clay; Azu Nwagbogu Curator, and Founder and director of African Artists’ Foundation.

Application Process

  • Artist Bio and Statement: A bio of up to 200 words telling us who you are, where you are from, where you live, where you have schooled (schooling doesn’t have to be formal or directly related to art) and a concise story of your artistic journey.
  • Portfolio: Up to 6 high resolution photos/videos/media links of your artworks including a full caption of the title, date, medium and measurements.

Submissions should be sent via email to and you may contact Tatyana on +233 26 196 6744 with any queries.

The deadline for applications is 31st July with winners announced in September.


All content © 2024 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT