Call for papers

Wole Soyinka Prize 2019

The Lumina Foundation, Lagos, Nigeria
Deadline: 31 May 2019

Wole Soyinka Prize for literature. Image courtesy Lumina Foundation

Wole Soyinka Prize for literature. Image courtesy Lumina Foundation

The Lumina Foundation, sole administrator of Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa, has announced the call for entry for the 2019 Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa.

Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa was established by The Lumina Foundation in 2005. It was conceived as a prestigious prize in honour of Africa’s first Nobel Laureate in literature to celebrate excellence in all its cerebral grace, its liberating qualities, the honour and recognition it brings to a myriad of people, of diverse cultures and languages. This prize honours people who have used their talents well enough to affect others positively. It honours Africa’s great writers and causes their works to be appreciated. It celebrates writing, promotes scholarship and makes books available and affordable by subsidizing the publication of books in the top list of the judges.

This is a pan African prize, viewed also as Africa’s NOBEL prize. It celebrates Africa’s great minds, brings home Africa’s best intellectuals as judges, entertainers, great communicators and leaders in their own rights.  It was designed to be The African prize with a lot of artistic features symbolising the Soyinka personae, as a distinguished intellectual, a conscientious and sensitive writer, a lover of the arts and humanities and a stickler for excellence, good governance, equity and justice.

Published novels by an author of African descent are eligible for this prize. Only Novels published in 2016, 2017 and 2018 may be entered for this prize. Submit 10 copies of each work along with author’s résumé and a coloured portrait photo as well as the publisher’s full contact details, including email contact and telephone number.

Submission can only be made by publishers.
Please visit for further details on entry rules.

The deadline for submission is May 31, 2019.

All entries should be sent to: The Lumina Foundation, Blue House. No 19, Unilag Road, Akoka, Yaba Lagos, Nigeria.

You may also submit online, further information under theluminafoundation.



All content © 2023 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT