The Sony World Photography Awards 2023

World Photography Organisation
Deadline: 13 January 2023

© Brent Stirton, South Africa, Finalist, Professional, Portraiture, 2022 Sony World Photography Awards

© Brent Stirton, South Africa, Finalist, Professional, Portraiture, 2022 Sony World Photography Awards

The Sony World Photography Awards is the leading competition for photographers and artists working in photography. Made up of four competitions (Professional, Open, Student and Youth), all entries are free and the top prize is $25,000. The Awards are regarded as one of the world’s most prestigious photography competitions by elevating photographers’ careers – from established to emerging – since it started 16 years ago.

Professional competition

  • Free to ente
  • Open to anyone submitting a series of 5 to 10 images per category
  • Ten diverse categories to enter
  • Awards for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place photographers plus up to 7 shortlisted photographers per category
  • One overall winner receives the Photographer of the Year title
  • NEW! Photographer of the Year is rewarded with a solo presentation of their work as part of the Sony World Photography Awards London exhibition the following year
  • Deadline is January 13, 2023 at 13.00 GMT

The Professional competition is judged on a body of work. Photographers must submit a minimum of five (5) and a maximum of ten (10) images and all submissions must be accompanied by a series description.

Please note that if you enter the Professional competition you cannot enter the Open or Youth competitions.

The Sony World Photography Awards supports Pro-Imaging in order to protect the image rights of photographers.


  • The Competition is free to enter.
  • The Professional competition is open to all Photographers entering a body of work.
  • All Entrants must be over 18.
  • By entering the Competition You hereby accept these Competition Rules and the Terms and Conditions.
  • Entries must be submitted by January 13, 2023 at 13.00 GMT

To enter, you must upload your image via the World Photography Organisation website ( or any of the official Sony World Photography Awards’ website and follow the on-screen instructions carefully.

Image Entry criteria

Un-published work entered into the competition must have been taken between the dates of January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022, or taken at any point in history but never been shown publicly. Once unpublished work has been entered, it cannot be entered again as published work in the future year of the Awards’ competition. For the portfolio category, images must be taken in the last three years, with a minimum number of 5 images from 2022.

Published work may have been taken at any point in history, but must have been commissioned or acquired or first published between the dates of January 1, 2022 and December 31, 2022. Eligible publications include books, magazines, newspapers, online and print editorial, self-publishing websites, including personal sites as well as commissioned gallery exhibitions. Images included in past photographic competitions, advertisements, marketing material, blogs, social media and all other visible platforms prior to January 1, 2022 will be considered published and not permissible within this competition.

Images should be no smaller than 1MB and no larger than 5MB. Images should be JPEG files.

All images must be saved in the sRGB colour model and EXIF data must be left in the image file.

All Entrants, if they are selected amongst the shortlist, must be able to supply a high resolution image suitable for printing in exhibitions should the image be required.

Entries will be judged between January 17, 2023 and January 31, 2023.

A shortlist of up to ten photographers from each category will be selected and announced prior to April 2023 and category winners and overall winners will be announced in April 2023. The finalists will be notified by email.

You may enter a minimum of five (5) and a maximum of ten (10) images per category, and may enter as many categories as you wish, however you cannot enter the same series or images into more than one category.


All content © 2024 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT