Fak’ugesi Digital Africa Residency

Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival, Johannesburg, South Africa
Deadline: 30 June 2017

Fak’ugesi Digital Africa Residency

Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival in collaboration with Pro Helvetia Johannesburg is calling for application for the Festival’s creative residency in Johannesburg.

Artists, creative technologists and practitioners working across a variety of fields from digital and contemporary art, game design, interactive design and creative computing are encouraged to apply.

The focus of the Fak’ugesi Festival in 2017 is the role of collaborative and interdisciplinary practice between technology, creativity and culture in Africa.


In 2017 Fak’ugesi is highlighting bravery as an important characteristic in how young Africans need to engage in a globalised information economy.

This year Fak’ugesi African Digital Innovation Festival salutes digital Africans that follow their hearts and live bravely.

Residency Expectations:

Successful applicants will be required to be in Johannesburg for the full residency period. Residents are expected to develop work in residence (either collaboratively with the other residents or independently).  Residents are expected to engage publicly through their practice with attendees via either workshops or talks. There required residency outcome is to produce a work (the format is open: installation, screen based, performance, app, game, etc.) for a final exhibition to open on Friday the 8th September 2017 as part of the Fuk’ugesi Festival program in Johannesburg.

Application Deadline: June 30th 2017

Submit your application here:

Number of Places: 3

Residency Dates: 1 month, 10 Aug to 16 September 2017.

Supported by the Residency: Travel to Johannesburg from SADC country, accommodation, per diems, foundational production budget. Some mentorship and production support.

Festival Dates: 6th – 16th September 2017

Applicants living in or working from of SADC countries are eligible to apply: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, , Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.



All content © 2024 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT