Access all areas: How to challenge institutions to break their exclusive structures? – ONLINE

1-54 Contemporary Africa Art Fair, Online , United Kingdom
17 Jun 2020

Left to right: Sepake Angiama (© Anjali Pinto); Linett Kamala (© Dee Ramadan); Julia Grosse and Yvette Mutumba (© Benjamin Renter); and Touria El Glaoui (© Katrina Sorrentino)

The current eruptions around the globe instigated by century-long structural racism and ignorance has caused many cultural institutions to publicly acknowledge their blanks and faults. While this can be deemed as a first step towards change, the big question remains: how will this lead to in-depth, long-term transformations?

1-54 has invited Julia Grosse and Yvette Mutumba (Co-Founders and Editors-in-Chief of Contemporary And) to moderate a conversation between Sepake Angiama (Artistic Director Iniva, London), Linett Kamala (Artist, Educator and Director for Lin Kam Art), and Touria El Glaoui (Founding Director, 1-54) discussing possibilities and tools for a diversification of the art world.

REGISTER HERE

Wednesday 17 June
18:00 Senegal / 19:00 UK / 20:00 France + Germany / 21:00 Kenya

 


All content © 2020 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT