Kampala, Uganda

Makerere Art Gallery

Photo by Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa

Le Makerere Art Gallery/Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration est à la fois une galerie universitaire et un institut de recherche relevant de l’université de Makerere à Kampala en Ouganda ; il se consacre à la conservation et à la recherche portant sur l’art d’Ouganda, et plus généralement d’Afrique orientale, et permet également à des artistes locaux et internationaux d’y exposer leurs œuvres.

Galerie et institut collaborent étroitement avec le Margaret Trowell School of Industrial and Fine Arts, établissement de renom. Remontant à la fin des années 1930, l’école des beaux-arts de l’université Makerere fut la première institution – et pendant de longues années la seule – à dispenser un enseignement artistique classique en Afrique orientale. C’est l’enseignante Margaret Trowell, artiste formée à la British Slade-School, qui fonda l’école pour la mener en un long processus jusqu’à son accréditation universitaire. Tout au long des trois premières décennies de son existence, l’école fut marquée par diverses influences régionales et internationales et fréquentée par des professeurs d’université et étudiants venus d’Europe et de différents pays subsahariens tels le Kenya, la Tanzanie, la Zambie, le Malawi, le Soudan et le Zimbabwe.

La Makerere Art Gallery voit le jour en 1969 grâce à des fonds provenant de la Fondation Calouste-Gulbenkian et constitue un espace d’exposition accueillant les œuvres de plus en plus nombreuses de la faculté et des étudiants. Cette collection publique d’art moderne et contemporain est aujourd’hui la seule de cette nature en Ouganda, et son importance s’étend bien au-delà des frontières de ce pays, puisqu’y est représentée une grande partie de la production artistique moderne d’Afrique orientale. En 2011, la galerie est devenue un institut dont le travail se concentre sur la recherche et a pris le nom de Heritage Conservation and Restoration (IHCR), sous l’égide du College of Engineering, Design, Art and Technology (CEDAT). Cette nouvelle institution interdisciplinaire continue de proposer un riche programme d’expositions innovant, tout en promouvant la recherche en matière d’histoire de l’art et l’entretien des collections.

Adresse physique

Makerere Art Gallery/Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration

At Margaret Trowell School of Industrial and Fine Arts

Makerere University

Kampala

Ouganda

Adresse postale

Makerere Art Gallery/Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration

Makerere University

P.O. Box 7062

Kampala

Ouganda

Contact

téléphone +256 781561834

email Mak.IHCR@gmail.com

Directeur : Dr. George Kyeyune

Commissaire : Katrin Peters-Klaphake

makerereartgallery.wordpress.com

Kampala, Uganda

Makerere Art Gallery

Photo by Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa

Makerere Art Gallery/Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration is a university gallery and research institute at Makerere University in Kampala, Uganda. It is dedicated to the preservation and research of art from Uganda and East Africa as well as to the exhibition of national and international artists.

Gallery and institute closely collaborate with the renowned Margaret Trowell School of Industrial and Fine Arts. Dating back to the late 1930s, the School of Fine Arts at Makerere University was the first – and for many years the only – institution of formal art education in East Africa. The British Slade School trained artist and teacher Margaret Trowell founded the school and took it through the long process of accreditation on university level. Through the first three decades the school was characterized by various regional and international influences. Lecturers and students came from Europe and various Sub-Saharan countries like Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Sudan, and Zimbabwe.

In 1969, Makerere Art Gallery was founded and constructed with funds from the Gulbenkian Foundation as an exhibition space for the growing collection of art works by faculty and students. This collection is currently the only public collection of modern and contemporary art in Uganda and of great significance far beyond Uganda, representing a big part of modern art production in East Africa. In 2011, the gallery was transformed into the independent research-focused Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration (IHCR) under the umbrella of the College of Engineering, Design, Art and Technology (CEDAT). This new interdisciplinary institution continues to offer a rich and innovative exhibition program while advancing art historic research and collection care.

Physical address

Makerere Art Gallery/Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration
At Margaret Trowell School of Industrial and Fine Arts
Makerere University
Kampala, Uganda

Postal address

Makerere Art Gallery/Institute of Heritage Conservation and Restoration
Makerere University
P.O. Box 7062
Kampala, Uganda

Contact 

phone: +256 781561834
email: Mak.IHCR@gmail.com

Director: Dr. George Kyeyune
Curator: Katrin Peters-Klaphake

www.makerereartgallery.wordpress.com

 


All content © 2020 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT