Lebohang Kganye

Lebohang Kganye, The Pied Piper, 2013 Inkjet print on cotton rag paper, 64 x 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist


Lebohang Kganye (née en 1990, Katlehong) est une artiste qui vit et travaille à Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud. Kganye a terminé les cours de niveau fondamental, intermédiaire et avancé (Foundation, Intermediate and Advanced Courses) en photographie dans le cadre des ateliers Market Photo Workshop entre 2009 et 2011. Parallèlement à ses études de photographie, elle a travaillé comme photographe freelance pour etv et est actuellement inscrite dans la section des Beaux-Arts de l’Université de Johannesburg.

Kganye a participé à divers ateliers de photographie et à des cours de maîtrise. Ses œuvres ont fait l’objet de plusieurs expositions d’art à Johannesburg, Pretoria, Potchefstroom, au Cap, à Harare, Londres, Amsterdam, Paris et New York. Kganye a obtenu le prix Tierney Fellowship Award en 2012 qui a débouché sur son exposition en solo Ke Lefa Laka, dans la galerie Market Photo Workshop Gallery (2013).

La photographie de Kganye intègre son intérêt pour la sculpture et la performance relative à l’archive et à la mémoire. Elle confronte les photos qu’elle a collectionnées aux photos retouchées ; l’artiste et sa famille constituent du matériel qui nourrit tant la mémoire que l’imaginaire. Elle explore l’histoire fictive en utilisant des archives pour fusionner des personnages illusoires avec de «  véritables  » personnages placés dans un nouvel univers.

 

 

 


All content © 2020 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT

Lebohang Kganye

Lebohang Kganye, The Pied Piper, 2013 Inkjet print on cotton rag paper, 64 x 90 cm. Courtesy of the artist


Lebohang Kganye (b. 1990, Katlehong) is an artist living and working in Johannesburg, South Africa. Kganye completed the Foundation, Intermediate and Advanced Courses in Photography at the Market Photo Workshop between 2009 and 2011. Upon completing her photography studies, she worked as a freelance photographer at etv and is currently enrolled at the University of Johannesburg for a Fine Art Degree.

Kganye has participated in several photography workshops and masterclasses. She has had several art exhibitions in Johannesburg, Pretoria, Potchefstroom, Cape Town, Harare, London, Amsterdam, Paris and New York. Kganye was the recipient of the Tierney Fellowship Award in 2012, leading to her solo show Ke Lefa Laka, Market Photo Workshop Gallery (2013).

Kganye’s photography incorporates her interest in sculpture and performance of the archive and memory. She confronts her collected and altered photographs; the artist and her family’s, as material for both memory and fantasy. She explores fictional history by using archives to merge illusive characters with “real” characters in a new universe.

 

 

 


All content © 2020 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT