Frieze Writer’s Prize 2016 : call for entries

Deadline: 18 July 2016

Frieze Writer’s Prize 2016 : call for entries

Frieze Writer’s Prize, the annual international award to discover and promote new art critics, is now open for entries. The winner will be commissioned to write a review for frieze and will be awarded 2,000 GBP.

Now in its tenth year, the prize will be judged by Paul Clinton (assistant editor, frieze) alongside celebrated frieze contributors Olivia Laing (writer) and James Bridle (writer and artist).

Aspiring art critics are invited to submit one unpublished review of a recent contemporary art exhibition, which should be 700 words in length.

Guidelines for submissions

–Entries must be submitted in English, but may be translated (this must be acknowledged)

–Entrants must be over 18 years of age at the time of submission

–Entrants are allowed a maximum of three previously published pieces of writing on art

–Entries should be emailed as a Word attachment to

–The closing date for entries is July 18

Please see the FAQs page for further information.

About the judges

James Bridle is an artist and writer based in Athens, Greece. His artworks have been commissioned by galleries and institutions and exhibited worldwide and on the internet. His writing on literature, culture and networks has appeared in magazines and newspapers including Wired, Domus, Cabinet, the Atlantic, New Statesman, Guardian, Observer and many others, in print and online. His work can be found at

Olivia Laing is a writer and critic based in Cambridge. She is the author of the recently published To the River (2016), The Trip to Echo Spring (2013) and The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone (2011), all published by Canongate. She writes for the the Guardian, Observer, New Statesman and The New York Times and is a regular frieze columnist.

Paul Clinton is assistant editor of frieze and Frieze Masters Magazine. He has taught on art, stupidity and queer theory at Goldsmiths College and the University of Manchester; and recent publishing activities include a special issue of parallax on stupidity and monographs on Bonnie Camplin and Gustav Metzger. He co-curated the exhibition ‘duh? Art & Stupidity’ at Focal Point Gallery, Southend-on-Sea (2015–2016).

About the Frieze Writer’s Prize

Since its launch in 2006, the Frieze Writer’s Prize has been awarded to Alice Butler (2012), Mia Jankowicz (2007) and Zoe Pilger (2011) among others. Read articles by previous winners and find out more at


All content © 2024 Contemporary And. All Rights Reserved. Website by SHIFT